When you move to a new state, there are many things you need to consider while you are adjusting. One requirement for new residents of Indiana is to obtain an Indiana driver’s license within 60 days of your move. When you do this, you give up your driver’s license from a previous state, and you begin to build your Indiana driving record.
If you were hit by a driver who did not have a valid Indiana driver’s license, you want to discuss this matter with a car accident attorney as soon as possible.
The following are the requirements for a new Indiana resident to obtain a driver’s license.
If you have a valid license from your previous state and you are at least age 18, you will need to present the following at a BMV branch office:
You will need to pass a vision test in addition to presenting these documents.
If your current license expired before you seek an Indiana license, you will need to pass a driving knowledge written exam. If your license is over three years expired or you have only had your out-of-state license for less than one year, you must pass a driving skills test with a BMV examiner in your car.
People without driver’s licenses in another state will need to obtain a learner’s permit in Indiana. You must hold your learner’s permit for at least 180 days before you are eligible to take your tests for your full driver’s license.
People who are between 16 years and 180 days old and 18 years who have held another driver’s license for at least six months must:
For those who had their license for less than a year, they must pass a driving skills exam as well.
It is important for new Indiana residents to meet all requirements and obtain a valid license before they continue to drive in the state after 60 days. If someone does not obtain the proper driver’s license, it can cause problems if they are pulled over by police or if they cause a car accident.
The law firm of Blackburn Romey represents car accident victims in complex cases in the Fort Wayne, South Bend, Indianapolis, Lafayette and Terre Haute areas. Contact us online or call (201) 588-1500 for a free case evaluation. We can assess whether someone else should be liable for your injuries and answer any questions you might have.